Oatmeal Banana Bread

Banana Bread has always been a wonderful comfort food to me. I have tried many different banana bread recipes over the years and none but this one have been impressive. A few months ago I had a container of oatmeal that I just didn’t know what to do with until I found this recipe for Oatmeal Banana Bread. Not only is this bread delicious, but the oatmeal in this recipe is a great source of fiber, making it a delightful food to start your day.


Oatmeal Banana Bread (makes 2 loaves)

Oatmeal Banana Bread
Oatmeal Banana Bread
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cup oats
  • 2 cups mashed banana (about 6 medium bananas)
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 t vanilla
  • 4 eggs, beaten

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and coat two loaf pans with baking spray. Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and oats into a bowl. Next, combine the mashed bananas, milk, oil, vanilla, and eggs into a separate bowl. Gradually pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix until everything is moistened (batter will be wet). Pour evenly into prepared loaf pans and bake for 55 minutes. Test the loaves to see if they are done by sticking a toothpick into the center of the loaf; the bread is finished if your toothpick comes out clean. Let cool in the pan for about 15 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire rack.


Step-by-Step Photos

Modest Bites- Oatmeal Banana Bread 001Here are our cast of characters! Don’t be intimidated by the number of ingredients, it all goes together easily and deliciously. Side note: the recipe calls for about six bananas but I used five because the bananas I had were large (and I only had five, so there we go). You can adjust as needed depending on the size of your banana.

Modest Bites- Oatmeal Banana Bread 004Mix together all of your dry ingredients. This time around I used my handy-dandy KitchenAid, but you can use a hand mixer or good ol’ fashioned man (or woman) power.

Modest Bites- Oatmeal Banana Bread 006Now, mix together your wet ingredients into a separate bowl. Also, if you try to get fancy and crack the eggs with one hand be prepared to dive your hand into that bowl of goop to pick out the shell. Whoops.

Modest Bites- Oatmeal Banana Bread 009That’s what I’m talking about!

Modest Bites- Oatmeal Banana Bread and Baby Food 015Now, gradually pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients while mixing on a low speed. Be careful not to mix it too quickly or else you will be cleaning up a big mess! I have learned that the hard way in the past.

Modest Bites- Oatmeal Banana Bread and Baby Food 024Mix until moistened. It will be wet, but don’t fret; it will bake into a wonderful loaf of banana bread!

Modest Bites- Oatmeal Banana Bread and Baby Food 027Pour the batter evenly into your greased loaf pans. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 55 minutes. I inherited these stoneware loaf pans from my mother after she passed away. They are my favorite and they’re well seasoned after years of use.

Modest Bites- Oatmeal Banana Bread 045Pull those lovelies out of the oven and test with a toothpick. Nice and clean!

Modest Bites- Oatmeal Banana Bread 048Beautiful! Unfortunately, my oven does not cook evenly which makes these loaves a little dark on one side, but still tasty – even if the crust is a bit dark.

Oatmeal Banana Bread

Slice your bread and serve it warm, topped with a pat of butter. Beautiful!

Verdict: This has become my new favorite banana bread recipe. Mr. C isn’t picky when it comes to this type of thing, he doesn’t even know the difference, aside from the fact that it is different than his mother’s. We have been together for four and a half years, and I wonder when he will stop comparing my food to his mom’s. *Please note that Mrs. C #2 (my mother-in-law) is a wonderful cook, and I love her to pieces!*

If you try this recipe leave me a comment down below, or share your favorite banana bread recipe!

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal Banana Bread

  1. I love your blog, your posts are amazing and everything looks so good! I just followed, it would be great if we can support each other πŸ™‚ I am so glad I got to discover you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

