Slow Cooker Roast with Onion Gravy

While growing up my mother rarely made a roast unless there was a great deal at the supermarket, which meant we normally ate a lot of macaroni and cheese, spaghetti, salmon patties, and chicken ‘n noodles over mashed potatoes. My mother was a good cook, but we had a very tight budget and she usually did not have the energy to prepare anything extravagant. She was a single mother who worked very hard. I don’t blame her for choosing meals that were easy to make! Now that I have a six month old rolling around all over the place, I am worn out by the end of the day and definitely prefer easy meals at this point in time. One of my go-to and easy dinners is Slow-Cooker Roast with Onion Gravy. You may have seen this recipe floating around Pinterest, but I have tweaked it a little to make it my own (I can’t help but meddle a little bit). This roast is so easy and delicious that I get very excited when it is on the menu.


Slow-Cooker Roast with Onion GravyCrockpot Roast with Onion Gravy 017

  • Beef Roast (2-3lb)
  • 2 cans cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 packet onion soup mix
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/2 t garlic powder
  • 1/4 t white pepper (optional)
  • 1 t Herbes de provence

Coat the inside of the slow cooker with cooking spray. Pour in the two cans of cream of mushroom soup and the onion soup mix, stir to combine. Nestle the roast into the slow cooker and generously season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle the rest of the seasonings over the roast. Place a lid on the slow cooker and cook on low for 8-10 hrs. The longer you cook the roast the more tender your meat will be. Serve with mashed potatoes and steamed vegetables.


Step-by-Step Photos

Crockpot Roast with Onion Gravy 003Here are our cast of characters! You can use whatever roast you like best. I found this 3 pound chuck roast on sale. The original recipe calls for the roast, two cans of cream of mushroom soup, and one packet of onion soup mix. I decided to add some extra seasoning because I can’t help but add my own flair.

Crockpot Roast with Onion Gravy 005Crockpot Roast with Onion Gravy 007Spray the slow cooker with cooking spray and mix the cream of mushroom soup with the onion soup mix. If I am being honest, I think cream of mushroom is gross on its own. I do not like the taste, smell, or look of it. But the end result is completely different and delicious.

Crockpot Roast with Onion Gravy 008Whenever I am preparing meat I always trim off as much fat as possible. Raw meat in general grosses me out and getting a mouthful of fat and gristle is unbearable. Just the thought of it makes me shiver in disgust. Once the roast has been prepped, nestle your meat on top of the soup mix. My roast was a little long and still slightly frozen, so I had some trouble getting it to fit. After a lot of poking and prodding, I got the meat to bend to my will.  Note: you could sear each side of your roast before placing it into your slow cooker, but that is optional. I took the easy way out.

Crockpot Roast with Onion Gravy 011Sprinkle your seasonings on top and and cover with the lid. Cook this roast on low for 8-10 hrs. The longer the better. I usually start up the crockpot after breakfast, and by the time dinner rolls around it’s fall-apart tender! So delicious.

Crockpot Roast with Onion Gravy 014I flipped the roast halfway through the cooking time so that the top and bottom of the meat spent equal time in the gravy. At the end of the cooking time, I lifted the lid to see this. The picture does not do this dish justice. Don’t judge a roast by the crappy picture that was taken of it.

Before serving, I skimmed off several tablespoons of fat off the top- trust me, do it! Then, I pulled the roast out and gave the gravy a good stir to mix all the juices and bits together. I used two forks to pull the roast apart into smaller portions. That is how tender this roast turned out, two forks pulled it apart like butter! That is my kind of roast!

Crockpot Roast with Onion Gravy 017I served this tender, tasty meat with mashed potatoes and steamed green beans. Ladle that superb gravy over your mashed potatoes and chow down!

Verdict: I served this roast to my husband as well as a couple of friends who came over for supper. I love entertaining, but do you know what I love even more? Seconds! Whether my husband, family, friends, or acquaintances: they clean their plate and ask for more!

Leftover Edition: Beef, Noodles, and Peas

Leftovers can be awesome and they can be a burden. Everybody knows the frustrating feeling of having those leftovers that just never seem to go away. That pot of spaghetti was so delicious the first night, but after 5 more servings you never want to see another bowl of spaghetti again. That is why re-purposing leftovers is such a great way to make sure you don’t get bored by eating the same thing over and over again. Some great ideas to re-purpose this roast would be to serve it on sandwiches, over rice, or you can do what I did this time around and make it into a tasty sauce for noodles.

I had enough leftovers for three servings, so if you decide to do this as a way to re-purpose your roast make sure you adjust for leftovers you have. First, pour the leftover gravy and meat into a sauce pan, heat on medium low and stir often so it doesn’t stick. Once it begins to warm up, stir in a heaping tablespoon of sour cream and 3/4 cup milk. This makes a creamy sauce that is great! While your sauce is warming up, prepare egg noodles (I used half a bag) according to the package directions. Once your noodles and your sauce are cooked through, pour the sauce over the noodles and add half a bag of peas. Let this all cook together for a few minutes to cook the peas and voila! You have a very tasty, and super easy, dish that is completely different from the original meal.

Leftovers: Beef, Noodles and Peas

Leave a Reply

