Herbed Orzo Pilaf

Here is the delightful side dish that I made the other day to accompany my lemon roasted chicken. I was surprised at how much I loved the flavor in this dish even though I used dried herbs instead of fresh. In the future, I will be making this again with fresh herbs and I will share it with you so you can see the difference.


Herbed Orzo Pilaf085

  • 4 Tablespoons butter
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried Herbes De Provence
  • 1/2 teaspoon Rosemary
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup Orzo pasta, uncooked
  • 2 cups chicken broth

Melt butter in a medium saucepan, add onion, herbs, salt, and pepper. Mix together and saute over medium heat until onion is tender. Increase heat to medium high and stir in 1 cup orzo, toast pasta for two minutes until it starts to turn a golden color. Add 2 cups chicken broth and bring to a simmer. Reduce heat, cover, and cook until orzo is tender. Taste and season with more salt and pepper as needed.


Step-by-Step Photos

011Here are our cast of characters: Salt, pepper, parsley, rosemary, herbes de provence, yellow onion, chicken broth, and orzo pasta. I also forgot to include half a stick of butter in the photo, but you will definitely want to remember to include it in your recipe!

036Melt 4 tablespoons butter in a medium size saucepan. Melted butter has such a mouth watering scent about it, doesn’t it? Drool.

038Add your onion, herbs, salt, and pepper to the pan. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any fresh herbs on hand, but dried herbs work just fine. Another wonderful smell: the smell of sauteed onions in butter!

041Saute the onions until tender. My kitchen smelled so good at the time this photo was taken because of the chicken roasting in the oven and the gorgeous smells coming out of this pan!

050Stir in the orzo and lightly toast the pasta before stirring in the chicken broth.

053Stir in the chicken broth and bring the whole pot to a simmer, cover and cook until Orzo is tender. Let me be honest, this is the first time I have ever cooked orzo but I find that I really like it! It is a nice change of pace.

072Now that the orzo is tender, taste and add more salt and pepper if needed. Be careful not to over salt in the beginning because your chicken broth may be saltier than you expect it to be.

085Here is the herbed orzo pilaf along with the lemon roasted chicken and a simple side of steamed broccoli and cauliflower. All of the flavors melded together so delicately and deliciously in this easy side dish. As I said before, I want to try this dish again using fresh herbs, but the dried herbs still gave a good flavor. I think this dish would be much prettier with some fresh parsley sprinkled on top. Don’t you think? Even though it looks a little plain, it is a winner.

One thought on “Herbed Orzo Pilaf

Leave a Reply

