Mexi-Stuffed Peppers

When I was younger and still living with my mother she would make stuffed peppers at least once a month.  It was one of her favorite meals because it was super easy: ground beef, rice, tomato sauce, some spices, and a couple of bell peppers… done! It was simple, yet tasty. One day, because I was a finicky little kid, I decided I didn’t like them. But my mother knew how to work around that, instead she made “Spanish rice” which included all of the exact same ingredients. Rather than stuffing bell peppers with the beef and rice mixture, she chopped the peppers and cooked them along with the stuffing. I didn’t mind the alternative casserole that she came up with, but I refused to eat a stuffed bell pepper. Silly little kid.

Stuffed peppers are not a common meal in my rotation, but I recently had an hankering to try them again. While flipping through some of my notebooks I found this recipe for Mexi-Stuffed Peppers which sounded very tasty!


Mexi-Stuffed PeppersMexi-Stuffed Peppers

  • 8 bell peppers
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 1/2 cup rice, uncooked
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 (15 oz) jar salsa
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese, plus more for serving

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large skillet brown ground beef with onions. At the same time, in a small sauce pan, pour in 1 cup water and a teaspoon of butter, bring to a boil and add your rice. Let simmer for a few minutes before turning on low, covering, and letting cook until the water has been absorbed and the rice is tender. While the beef and rice are cooking, drain and rinse the beans and corn. Once the beef is no longer pink, drain most of the fat and add your taco seasoning and the appropriate amount of water (consult the taco seasoning packet) and cook until the sauce has thickened. Stir in the beans, corn, cooked rice, and jar of salsa. When the mixture is well combined, prepare your bell peppers by chopping off the tops, scooping out the seeds, and rinsing the peppers inside and out. Take the beef mixture and spoon it inside the peppers. When all of your peppers are stuffed, place them in a lightly greased baking dish and top with cheddar cheese. Bake for 30 minutes or until peppers are tender. Serve with additional salsa, cheese, and sour cream.


Step-by-Step Photos

115Here are our cast of characters: 1 pound ground beef, a can of black beans, a can of corn, one 15 ounce jar of salsa, 1 packet taco seasoning (I bought a big can and just measured the correct amount that would equal a packet), half an onion, 1/2 cup uncooked rice and 8 bell peppers. Yes, you are correct, I only have 4 peppers pictured. Tonight I was cooking just for Mr. C and I. Even making 4 stuffed peppers we had a nice supper and leftovers for the next day. With the remaining beef mixture I tossed it in the freezer for an fast meal in the future. You may have noticed that I forgot to include the cheese in this photo; I was rushing to take these pictures and prep the peppers before supper while my son was napping, so I was in a bit of a hurry.

116Add your ground beef and diced onions to a large skillet. I added a small amount of olive oil to prevent sticking. This is my new 12 inch skillet I got for my birthday. Isn’t it beautiful? It’s even oven proof! Have you any ideas on how to make use of this handy feature? At the same time you are cooking your beef, prepare your rice. I didn’t think to take photos of that process, but I hope you are able to cook the rice to your satisfaction.

125Drain and rinse your beans and corn and set aside until your beef is ready.

120Now to prepare the bell peppers: cut off the tops, scoop out the seeds, and rinse the peppers inside and out. Aren’t those peppers so pretty and colorful?

132Once your beef is cooked through, drain off most of the fat and add in your taco seasoning and water. Cook until the sauce has thickened. And now, if you want to just eat your weight in tacos you are ready to go! But we want to make this ordinary taco meat into something even more delightful so let’s keep going.

141Stir your corn, beans, cooked rice, and the jar of salsa into your beef mixture. This doesn’t look very pretty, but it tastes mighty fine!

142Take your prepared bell peppers and use a spoon to scoop the beef mixture into the cavity of the pepper. Fill each pepper to the top.

144Once each pepper has been filled to the top with beef, place in a lightly greased baking dish. Here is a word of advice from my little kitchen: be careful while moving this baking dish, the peppers will slide around and you will have to scoop up some of the stuffing and put it back into a pepper that toppled over.

149Top each pepper with a little bit of cheese. I pressed the cheese lightly so that it would stick to the beef mixture and stay put.

158Bake in a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes or until your peppers are tender and the cheese is golden and bubbly. I enjoyed the crust that the cheese formed. If you do not want the cheese to harden into a crust, wait until the last 5 minutes of baking before adding the cheese.

167These Mexi-Stuffed Peppers were so flavorful and fun to serve. I served my peppers with additional salsa, shredded cheese, and sour cream. Additionally, I found this delicious jalapeno cheddar focaccia bread to go along side the peppers. I will most definitely be searching for a recipe so I can make this bread myself. This whole meal was so filling and delicious, even Mr. C, who is a fairly picky eater, approved! I asked him to repeat himself when he told me he liked it. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I have. Leave me a comment down below with your thoughts!

One thought on “Mexi-Stuffed Peppers

Leave a Reply

