Southwestern Turkey Chili

Even though Summer is still upon us and August has barely stepped out of the front door, there is so much talk of fall that I’m getting more and more excited about it! I cannot wait for Autumn leaves, sweatshirts, hot cocoa, and all the comfort foods that come with cooler weather. Last week was unusually cool for August (of course now it is blazing hot) and a tasty soup sounded like it would hit the spot.

When I came upon thisΒ recipe for Southwestern Turkey Chili, I made a few alterations to the recipe to suit my taste buds and the outcome made me very happy! I have definitely satisfied my craving for spicy whole-body-warming soup.

You may remember me mentioning in a previous post how I am not big on cooked tomato, unless it is pureed smooth. Many chili recipes use cans of crushed or whole tomatoes, but because that does not sound appealing to me, I decided to use only one can of diced tomatoes, as well as tomato sauce.


Southwestern Turkey Chili

  • Modest Bites- Southwestern Turkey Chili 066a1 lb Turkey Sausage
  • 1 white onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, minced
  • 1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes with green chilies
  • 1 (15 oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 (15 oz) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 (29 oz) can tomato sauce
  • 2 cups frozen corn
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon cumin
  • 1/2 tablespoon creole seasoning

Add a couple of tablespoons of olive oil to a large pot and warm over medium heat. Add ground turkey sausage, diced onion, minced garlic, and minced jalapeno. Cook until the turkey is no longer pink and the onion is translucent. Meanwhile, drain and rinse the beans. When the turkey is cooked, pour in the can of diced tomatoes and chilies along with the juices, the tomato sauce, black beans, kidney beans, and corn. Fill the tomato sauce can 3/4 with water and swirl it around to catch all of the extra tomato sauce. Pour water into the pot along with the chili powder, cumin, and creole seasoning, then stir everything to combine. Heat the chili until it boils lightly and everything is heated through. Serve with sour cream and shredded cheese if desired.


Step-by-Step Photos

Modest Bites- Southwestern Turkey Chili 004Here are our cast of characters: turkey sausage, garlic, a jalapeno, an onion, black beans, kidney beans, diced tomatoes with green chilies, tomato sauce, cumin, chili powder, and creole seasoning. I used only one jalapeno when making my chili, but I think I would have liked to add a second jalapeno for a little more kick. Live dangerously! You can also replace the 2 cups frozen corn for a 15 ounce can of corn.

Modest Bites- Southwestern Turkey Chili 012Add a bit of olive oil to a large pot and add your ground turkey sausage, diced onion, minced onion, and jalapeno. If you are not familiar with how to peel fresh garlic, my method is to lay the unpeeled garlic clove on the counter and to take the flat edge of a knife, then crush the garlic slightly. The peel comes off easily after the clove has been crushed. Cook your meat and veggies over medium heat until the turkey is cooked through and onion is translucent.

Modest Bites- Southwestern Turkey Chili 021While your meat and veg are cooking away, drain and rinse the beans.

Modest Bites- Southwestern Turkey Chili 028Once the meat is cooked through and the onions are translucent, add your beans, and corn to the pot. We are almost done!

Modest Bites- Southwestern Turkey Chili 033Stir in the can of diced tomatoes with green chilies, tomato sauce, and the water. Oh, yeah, I am getting very excited now! Also stir in all of the seasonings at this time. I suggest that you taste test and adjust the seasonings as you see fit. The amount I used tasted just right to me, but you may like a little more flavor or a little less. Additionally, if you prefer to work with tomato juice rather than tomato sauce you can replace the tomato sauce and water for an equal amount of tomato juice. I like to use tomato sauce so I have a bit more control with how much I thin it out.

Modest Bites- Southwestern Turkey Chili 046Allow the whole pot to come to a slow boil so that everything is heated through. I served this chili shortly after it was heated, but it would be fine to let this simmer for a while before serving.

Modest Bites- Southwestern Turkey Chili 066I served this warm treat with shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream on top. Don’t forget a lovely roll to soak up the last little bits of soup in the bottom of the bowl. When it comes to switching between ground beef and ground turkey, my brain is hardwired to think that any ground meat should taste like ground beef and when it doesn’t I get a little weirded out… don’t mind me, I’m funny like that. Ground turkey is cheaper than beef so this is a great meal to eat well at the same time you are being frugal. This is definitely a winner in my book!

One thought on “Southwestern Turkey Chili

  1. To funny, I was getting ready to post my Turkey Chili next week. It is just that time of year! πŸ™‚ I just LOVE your step by step photos! I would love to do that, but I either forget or I don’t have enough natural light in my kitchen. Keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

