Seven Can Chili

I realize that this will be the second recipe for chili that I have shared with you, but trust me you will want to keep reading! What can I say? Chili is a hearty and relatively cheap meal. Originally, I saw this recipe that was shared by The Pioneer Woman, with her version called “7-Can Soup”. I liked the idea of how simple her recipe was and I put my own spin on it. The original recipe calls for you to use a can of chili but my stomach was very unhappy with me the last time I tried it. If canned chili is not something you are keen on using, give my version a try and you will not be disappointed!

Another aspect of this recipe that made me raise a questioning brow isΒ that you don’t drain any of the cans… that’s right, you throwΒ everything into a pot and enjoy the fruit of your labors, or lack thereof!

Seven Can Chili

  • Servings: 8-10
  • Time: 45 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

121a

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 packet chili seasoning
  • 1 (15 oz) can tomato sauce
  • 2 (14.5 oz) cans Rotel
  • 1 (15 oz) can black beans
  • 1 (15 oz) can kidney beans
  • 1 (15 oz) can pinto beans
  • 1 (11 oz) can corn with chipotle peppers
  • 8 oz Velveeta cheese, cubed

In a large pot, brown the ground beef with the onion and garlic until the meat is no longer pink. Meanwhile, open all of your cans. When the beef is ready, stir in the chili seasoning and pour all 7 cans into the pot- do not drain any of the cans. Fill the tomato sauce can with water and add to the pot as well. Stir to combine everything and bring to a simmer over medium heat. Once the soup is hot, add the cubed Velveeta and allow cheese to melt into the soup. Once melted, stir to distribute the cheese. Make sure the chili is completely heated through and is ready to serve.

Step-by-Step Photos

005Here are our cast of characters: a chopped white onion, 2 cloves of garlic, a pound of ground beef, chili seasoning, chipotle corn, velveeta, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes with green chilies (Rotel), and three types of beans. I was delighted to find this itty bitty log of Velveeta, did you know they came in anything but a 20 pound log? Also, I had no idea they offered chipotle corn! I also saw jalapeno corn and fiesta corn but I wanted to try it with the chipotle peppers and they definitely gave the soup a yummy smokey flavor.

012Drizzle a little bit of olive oil into the bottom of a large pot and add your chopped onion and minced garlic. Cook over medium heat until garlic is aromatic.

020Toss your ground beef into the pot and cook it until it is no longer pink. Break it up with your spoon as it cooks.

027While the beef is cooking, open all of your cans and remember: don’t drain any of the cans!

032Once your beef is cooked through add your chili seasoning. If you have your own homemade chili seasoning you could use that, but for the sake of convenience, I used a cheap store-bought packet.

044Dump the contents of all 7 cans into your pot. Just dump it all in!

051Stir it all together and fill the tomato sauce can with water and pour that into the pot as well. In all honesty, you could stop right here. Just let the soup get nice and hot and chow down. But there is one more step that you really don’t want to skip!

055Cut the 8 ounces of Velveeta into cubes. The size doesn’t matter too much.

062Now, fling your cheese into the pot. Don’t just gently set them in there, throw them in and see what happens!

071When the cheese is melted, give the whole pot a good stir to distribute the cheese. Velveeta makes everything better, doesn’t it? I may say that about a lot of things. Even though you could serve the chili without the cheese, the Velveeta adds a creaminess that makes this chili stand apart from your everyday bowl of soup.

101Yum! Let your chili get nice and hot before serving it up. Let me show you what I served this chili with…

109Some ridiculously easy cheddar garlic biscuits! I bought a cheap can of refrigerated biscuits, sprinkled a little garlic salt on top and shredded cheddar cheese. Bake as the package directs and enjoy!

121At first, I was skeptical, but once I tasted the final product I was a very happy lady! This chili is even husband approved, so you know it was tasty!

2 thoughts on “Seven Can Chili

    1. It is thin but creamy from the cheese. If you get to the point where you add the water from the tomato sauce can you could add a little at a time until you have the consistency you prefer or you could always add more water as well. Let me know if you try it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

