Bumble Bee Cupcake Toppers

Here is a quick tutorial for the Bumble Bee Cupcake Toppers that I made for our little man’s birthday party. The cupcakes themselves were delicious, but nothing spectacular- just simple vanilla on vanilla. But the cupcake topper made them special and a cute addition to our Winnie the Pooh themed party.

These bumble bee cupcake toppers are very simple to make, they just take a bit of patience to put together. Trust me, if I can do it, you can do it.


Step-by-Step Photos

004

Here are the things you will need: Tootsie rolls, yellow M&M’s, yellow candy melts, and sliced almonds. Yes, I did pick through an entire bag of M&M’s to pick out all of the yellow ones.

007

Toss your yellow candy melts into your melting pot. If you do not have a melting pot, heat the candy melts in a heatproof bowl in the microwave for 20-30 second intervals, stirring after each interval, until they are melted and smooth. If you find that the candy melts are a bit lumpy you can add a bit of vegetable oil (just a little at a time!) until it’s smooth.

009

While the candy melts are melting, get to unwrapping your tootsie rolls! Try your hardest to refrain from eating them as you go. I know, it’s hard… Ok, go ahead and sneak one of them. I won’t tell. Lay the ones you didn’t eat on a wax paper-lined baking sheet (or some other flat surface).

011

Here are our candy melts all nice and smooth.

016

Put your candy melts in a squeeze bottle (or a icing bag, or even a zip-lock baggie with a corner snipped off).

023

Drizzle the candy melts over your tootsie rolls to create stripes of yellow over the tootsie rolls.

028

Working in batches, grab two almond slices that are similar in size and attach them with the still melted candy melts. You will need to be patient because it will take a moment for them to stay put. It took me a few tries to get it right. I placed my ‘wings’ slightly forward and tilted back, but you can place them however you like.

037

Now that your bees are striped and winged it is time to give them heads! I suppose you could do this at anytime, but I waited to do it at the very end. I’m a rebel.

Take your candy melts and place a small dab on one side of the M&M (I placed it on the side with the “M”). Then press your M&M onto the front of the bee and hold it in place for a few moments until it’s secure.

041

And that’s it! So simple and cute! When I removed the bees from the baking sheet I gently broke off any excess yellow candy that was hanging off the side. Why buy pre-made bumble bee cupcake toppers when you can put together these cuties much cheaper? I love how these turned out!

One thought on “Bumble Bee Cupcake Toppers

Leave a Reply

