Bacon Avocado Lettuce Tomato (BALT) Sandwiches

I hope that you are familiar with the wonderful world of BLT sandwiches, if not, then you really should rectify that situation and eat a BLT immediately… like right now, I’m not kidding. I wish I had one myself to be honest. In an attempt to spice up life a little bit I decided to do a minor upgrade on the delicious classic and throw a simple horseradish mayo spread on my bread before piling it high with bacon, lettuce, tomato and avocado. Yes, I said avocado and boy is it delicious!

I know this may be old news to many of you, or maybe this is a new idea. Either way give it a try and I will feel good about sharing this magic with the world.

While the original classic BLT is divine on its own, the avocado added a creamy and satisfying element that can’t be beat. But beware, make sure you get a nice ripe avocado. Have you ever accidentally tried to eat an avocado that was not ripe yet? I hope not because it is awful!

Bacon, Avocado, Lettuce, and Tomato (BALT) Sandwiches

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Modest Bites- BALTs 052a
Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons horseradish sauce
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 16 slices of cooked bacon
  • 2 avocados, sliced
  • 4 large leaves of romaine lettuce
  • 2 tomatoes, sliced
  • 8 slices sandwich bread

Directions: In a small bowl combine the mayo and horseradish sauce until completely combined, add salt and pepper to taste. Spread the mayo mixture evenly among all of the slices of bread. To assemble the sandwiches layer a slice of bread with half of a sliced tomato, half of a sliced avocado, 4 slices of bacon, 1 large romaine leaf, and top with another slice of bread. Repeat with the remaining ingredients to make four sandwiches.

Step-by-Step Photos

Modest Bites- BALTs 011

Here are our cast of characters: a simple mayo/horseradish dressing, bacon, avocado, lettuce, tomato, and sandwich bread. Isn’t it so pretty?

Modest Bites- BALTs 017

First things first, slather your bread with a good helping of the horseradish mayo spread. There should be plenty of spread to share among all four sandwiches.

Modest Bites- BALTs 022

Layer half of a sliced tomato on your sandwich and if you’re sophisticated like me, sprinkle a generous amount of salt on top.

Modest Bites- BALTs 023

Add half of a sliced avocado, the hubby doesn’t like avocado so I got it all to myself!

Modest Bites- BALTs 029

Delicately layer four slices of bacon on top of the avocado. Try not to eat all of the bacon before it gets to the sandwich.

Modest Bites- BALTs 030

Last, but not least, it wouldn’t be a BALT without lettuce. It would be a BAT! We usually keep stocked up on romaine lettuce in our refrigerator, but you can use whatever lettuce you prefer.

Modest Bites- BALTs 052

And that’s it! No fuss, no muss! Simple, yet delicious… beautiful and glorious.

Modest Bites- BALTs 039

Oh, this is a mess. It seems that everybody but me can cut a sandwich in half and make it look presentable. Clearly, I need to make more sandwiches to practice the art of cutting them just right.

Whether you eat them like the hot mess you are, or is that just me?Β  Or eat them clean and tidy like I never could, I hope you enjoy these easy sandwiches just as much as I do!

Modest Bites- BALTs 043

Leave a Reply

