Frozen Meal Prep: Mexican Lasagna

I decided to do an experiment this weekend and I am happy to announce that it was a success! Something I have learned in the kitchen is to roll with the punches and adapt as you go. I took this idea after binge watching the food network channel and saw one chef make enchiladas, another make a glorious lasagna, and yet another make a tasty looking Mexican rice casserole. I decided to combine all of these elements and create my own version in my itty bitty kitchen. Thankfully, I am happy with the results and figured I should share my success with you.

Trying to figure out a name for this concoction was difficult… Mexican Enchilada Casserole? Mexican Fiesta Fajita Enchilada Lasagna Casserole? I decided to stick with Mexican Lasagna because I layered the ingredients instead of mixing them all together like I normally see in a ‘casserole’. This dish has so many flavors and textures that my mouth is watering right now just thinking about it.

Don’t be intimidated by the number of steps that goes into making this meal, nothing is very complicated. It will take a bit of time to make all of the components but keep in mind- this recipe makes two full pans! One pan for tonight and one pan goes into the freezer for another day!

 

Freezer Cooking: Mexican Lasagna

  • Servings: 2 pans- 8 servings each
  • Time: 1hr 30mins
  • Difficulty: intermediate
  • Print

097a

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups enchilada sauce
  • 3 cup salsa
  • 1 pound Monterey jack cheese, shredded
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 large yellow onion, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 2 cups cooked rice (leftover or freshly cooked)
  • 1 can (15 oz) black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (15 oz) kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (15 oz) corn, drained
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 24 small flour tortillas

Directions: In a large liquid measuring cup mix together 2 cups red enchilada sauce (about 1 can) with 3 cups salsa. Shred a 1 pound block of Monterey jack cheese and set aside. Next, chop the bell pepper, onion, and mince the garlic. In a large deep skillet, drizzle 3 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat. Once the skillet it warm add the garlic, bell pepper, and onion and saute until the vegetables are beginning to soften. Salt and pepper the vegetables, to taste. Meanwhile, chop the tomatoes and add them to the skillet with the peppers and onions. Cook down another 5 minutes. Remove the vegetable mixture to a bowl and set aside.

In the same skillet cook the ground beef until it is completely browned. While the beef is cooking drain and rinse both cans of beans and drain the corn. Once the beef is cooked through add the beans and corn as well as the seasonings, mix well and continue heating until everything is warmed through.

Time to assemble: in a 9×13 pan pour a thin layer of the enchilada sauce and salsa mixture, top with 6 tortillas, half of the vegetable mixture, half of the beef/bean mixture, a healthy handful of cheese, 6 more tortillas, cover the tortillas with sauce, and another handful of cheese to finish it off. Repeat with a second 9×13 pan: sauce, 6 tortillas, sauce, rice, veggies, beef, cheese, tortillas, sauce, and the last of the cheese. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 25-30 minutes until everything is bubbly, melted, and lightly browned on top. Allow the pan to rest for 10-15 minutes before serving. Serve this dish with your favorite taco toppings and enjoy! If freezing, cover with a double layer of aluminum foil and label.

Step-by-Step Photos

007

Here are the cast of characters for this delicious Mexican lasagna: tortillas, cheese, beef, beans, corn, rice, garlic, onion, tomatoes, a green pepper, and of course the enchilada sauce and salsa mixture that I have already mixed together in a large liquid measuring cup. I failed to include the spices in this photo because I had forgotten about them until I was already cooking the beef. Whoops! At least I remembered them later on.

014

The first thing I did, just to get it out of the way, was to go ahead and grate the entire 1 pound block of cheese.

019

Look at that tower of cheese!

024

Yum, I am a big fan of cheese. I believe just about everything is better with cheese.

022

Now, prepare the onions, peppers, and garlic. I chopped the onion and pepper roughly the same size, not too small, but not very large.

027

Once the pepper, onion, and garlic were ready to go I heated 3 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat in my deep skillet pot thingy. What’s the proper name for this thing? I like using this deep skillet to avoid messes and spill overs.

030

Once the pan is nice and hot throw in the chopped vegetables as well as some salt and pepper- just a bit to add more flavor.

032

While the peppers and onions are cooking go ahead and chop two tomatoes about the same size as the other vegetables.

038

Once the peppers and onions have cooked for about 5 minutes and are halfway tender, stir in the tomatoes and cook another 5 minutes.

044

After 5 minutes of cooking the tomatoes will have cooked down a little and become saucy. Pour the vegetable mixture into a bowl and set them aside to await assembly.

047

In the same skillet add your ground beef and cook until completely browned. I suppose if you want to speed up the whole process of this recipe you could use two different pans and cook the vegetables at the same time that you cook your beef but I like to use as few pans as possible to make cleaning up easier. Feel free to go the route you prefer.

013

While the beef if browning drain and rinse your beans and corn. I love the colors that are going into this meal!

049

Add the seasonings, beans, and corn to the cooked beef and stir to combine all of the seasonings.

054

Allow the beef and bean mixture to warm through. My kitchen smells so good!

058

Now it is time to build the lasagna! Assemble all of the components and roll up your sleeves!

060

Cover the bottom of a 9×13 pan with a thin coat of your sauce mixture.

061

Layer 6 tortillas, overlapping to fill the pan.

063

Another layer of sauce…

064

Half of the rice…

067

Half of the vegetables…

068

Half of the meat mixture… I’m getting excited!

070

A healthy dose of cheese…

073

Another 6 tortillas…

074

Cover the tortillas with some more sauce…

077

And last, but not least… cheese!

082

Repeat with another 9×13 pan with the remaining ingredients. I have a confession to make… originally I had planned to make this all in one pan so that there would be two sets of layers but once I got to the second layer of tortillas in my first pan I realized that my dinky pan simply could not encompass the massive amounts of ingredients that I had prepared. Instead of being defeated I simply grabbed another pan and cheered that I would have another tasty meal waiting in the freezer.

085

Pop your pan into a 375 degree oven for 25-30 minutes or until the whole pan is gloriously bubbly, hot, melty, and crispy browned on top. If you don’t like a crispy top, check the pan between 20-25 minutes.

097

Top this delicious meal with your favorite taco toppings, anything goes- pile it high, or keep it simple like I have here with a dollop of sour cream and fresh cilantro. There are so many flavors and textures going on in this dish that all of my tastebuds were dancing with glee when I took my first bite.

If you try this dish let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Frozen Meal Prep: Mexican Lasagna

  1. I make something very similar except I use shrimp instead of beef, and add a can of green chiles! Have you ever tried using corn tortillas instead of flour? I’ve done both and I feel like corn tortillas don’t get as soggy and “gluey” as wet flour tortillas tend to do.

    Like

    1. I was never much of a fan of corn tortillas when using them for tacos but I will have to try them in this dish since they will be mixed with so many other flavors. Thank you for the idea!

      Like

Leave a Reply

