Chicken Sausage and Peppers Marinara over Spaghetti

Have you ever been overwhelmed by the ginormous amount of recipes and different foods there are? These are the things that keep me up at night. My head is swimming with all of these different recipes and different foods and flavor profiles and textures and ingredients… oh my goodness. So much food, so little time! It’s time to get to work.

Anyways, after I stop panicking about all of the food I want to eat I sit down and try to come up with a meal plan that makes sense with our budget and funny little life.

This meal was an interesting creation after staring in my fridge for an unfortunate amount of time trying to figure out what to make for supper. I had peppers and onions left over from my mexican lasagna and a jar of spaghetti sauce that needed to make its way out of the back of the fridge quickly. Along with pasta that I always have stocked in the pantry and some tasty chicken sausage I was able to pull this meal together quickly and that makes me very happy!

Chicken Sausage and Peppers Marinara over Spaghetti

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

100a

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 2 green bell peppers, sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 (12 ounce) package Andouille chicken sausage, sliced in bite sized pieces
  • 1 (24 ounce) jar spaghetti sauce
  • 1 ( 15 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoonΒ  freshly cracked black pepper
  • Red pepper flakes, to taste, optional
  • 1 (16 ounce) package spaghetti

Directions: Slice onion and peppers then mince the garlic while your oil is warming in a large skillet over medium heat. Saute the vegetables until they are tender before adding the sliced chicken sausage. Cook the sausage and peppers until completely warmed and slightly browned. While the sausage and peppers are cooking bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Once the water is boiling cook the spaghetti according to package directions, drain and set aside until ready to combine with the sauce. Add spaghetti sauce and tomato sauce to the meat and veggies as well as salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes if you would like an extra kick of heat. Stir the sauce into the noodles and serve topped with grated parmesan.

Step-by-Step Photos

038

Here are our cast of characters: peppers, an onion, sausage, pasta, and spaghetti sauce. The tomato sauce was off chilling out in the pantry and was too busy to join us for a group photo, lazy bum.

043

Start this quick meal off by prepping the veggies. I am still working on my knife skills and it doesn’t help that half of the time I’m trying to slice onions through watery eyes! Ignore my racoon eyes, I’ve been slicing onions.

047

Drizzle the oil in a nice big skillet and get it nice and toasty!

048

Throw those delightful veggies into the skillet and listen to them sizzle.

053

As the vegetables cook, slice the sausage. I was so pleased to find chicken andouille sausage since I don’t eat pork. I love the spicy flavor!

055

Add the sausage to the skillet and continue cooking until everything is hot, tender, and delicious. I nearly forgot to mention that you should add salt and pepper to the veggies as well as red pepper flakes if you want an extra kick, I left them out this time. Don’t oversalt at this point because you may find your sauce or sausage are saltier than you expected.

060

This is the delicious I am talking about!

063

Ah, he finally decides to join us.

068

Pour the spaghetti sauce and the tomato sauce into the skillet and give everything a good stir.

074

Let the sauce simmer on low until the pasta is ready to go. At this point taste your sauce and adjust the seasonings, more salt, more pepper, whatever you think it needs. Of course I failed to take any photos of the pasta… I was so hungry that I got a little ahead of myself.

Once your pasta is finished cooking and drained stir the sauce right in with the noodles and mix it all together. I always mix my sauces with my pastas- it prevents the noodles from sticking together and it allows the pasta to absorb some of the flavors from the sauce.

100

Viola! Dinner is served.

104

Top your bowl with a healthy sprinkling of freshly grated parmesan cheese and go to town. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

