Easy Coffee Toffee Brownies

Sometimes you just need chocolate… and sometimes you need that chocolate to come easily. So a box of brownie mix comes into the picture… but wait… how can we make this a little more interesting? How about we vamp up that brownie mix and turn it into something gloriously and sinfully delicious? Sounds like a plan!

This happened to me last week. I normally don’t crave chocolate but when I do it hits me by surprise. Thankfully, I had a box mix hiding in my cupboard that was just begging to be played with. I also found a package of Heath Toffee bits (YUM) and to make it even more fantastic I grabbed the instant coffee.

After making the first batch I had to run to the store to buy more ingredients. I made this three times in one week… three times! Partly because I wanted to make sure I had all the ingredient amounts correct, the right oven temp and baking time, aaaaaannnd because it was so stinking delicious that I just couldn’t help myself. Don’t worry, I gave some brownies away and several are waiting for me in the freezer. But trust me, its a challenge to behave around these things!

Easy Coffee Toffee Brownies

  • Servings: 9
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
045a
Ingredients:

  • 1 package milk chocolate brownie mix
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3 tablespoons instant coffee
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/3 cup strong brewed cold coffee
  • 1 (8 ounce) package Heath English Toffee Bits, divided

Directions: Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. In a medium size mixing bowl combine the brownie mix, eggs, instant coffee, vegetable oil, and cold coffee until completely smooth. Pour in all but 1/2 cup of toffee bits and fold into the batter. Pour the batter into a greased 8×8 baking dish and top with remaining 1/2 cup toffee bits. Bake in the preheated oven for 55-60 minutes, rotate the baking dish halfway if your oven bakes unevenly. The brownies are done when a toothpick inserted into the center of the pan comes out mostly clean. Allow to cool and set up before serving.

Step-by-Step Photos

004

Here are our cast of characters for these beautiful brownies: milk chocolate brownie mix (of course), oil, cold coffee, toffee bits, eggs, and instant coffee. Easy peasy!

005

Casually toss everything into a mixing bowl. You may be wondering why I didn’t just use water with extra instant coffee, it’s because I’m an only child and I do what I want.

008

Mix all of the ingredients until they are nice and smooth. The black flecks you see in the batter is the instant coffee, this is why I used cold coffee since the instant coffee doesn’t completely blend in until the brownies are baking. At least, that’s what I tell myself.

010

Mix all but 1/2 cup of the toffee bits into the batter and for heavens sake don’t eat it all!

Ok… maybe a nibble.

024

Pour the batter into a greased 8×8 baking dish, this will make nice thick brownies.

025

Top the batter evenly with the remaining heath bits.

031

Low and slow is the key to making sure these moist brownies are cooked completely in the middle. The first couple of times I baked them the edges were overdone and the middle was pretty much raw, not a great combination.

034

Hello lover… what’s on the menu? Me n’ you!

037

Super moist, super thick, super tasty…

040

Ahhhh… The top layer of heath bits makes a thin crunchy crust and the brownie itself is moist and tender. The coffee flavor isn’t scream in your face strong, but the layer of flavor is prominent. I don’t think there is a better pairing than chocolate, heath bars, and coffee. Except…

050

Ice cream! Live a little and add the vanilla ice cream on the side. If you make these brownies make sure to invite me over, I’ll bring the ice cream!

045

3 thoughts on “Easy Coffee Toffee Brownies

  1. Two things caught my eye..this beautiful rustic red plate and the word “coffee” in your title … but it turns out that your post is so much more than that! I like your recipe! it’s easy to make not making a big kitchen mess and it looks yummy! Thumbs up 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

