Watermelon Limeade

While living with a toddler I have found that I need to be creative when he decides he no longer wants to eat a certain type of food. One day, Sam will eat (insert name of food) like there is no tomorrow, the next day he throws it to the dog. I have been told that this is normal toddler behavior, but it sure can be annoying.

In order to reduce waste I have been keeping a baggy in the freezer to make smoothies for him when I get enough fruit collected, throw a little spinach or kale into the mix and I feel pretty good about that healthy snack.

But sometimes I find a way to re-purpose the fruit he won’t eat any more into something yummy for the hubby and I. Say hello to these yummy adult watermelon limeades.

 

Watermelon Limeade

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:097a

  • 6 cups seedless watermelon, cubed
  • 4 limes, juiced
  • 2 tablespoons sugar (more to taste)
  • 2-4 ounces Tequila, optional
  • Lime wedges and maraschino cherries, for garnish

Directions: Blend watermelon, lime juice, and sugar in a blender until completely smooth. Pour the mixture into a pitcher and chill until ready to use. When you are ready to serve the drinks, pour the watermelon limeade into glasses and mix in 1-2 ounces of tequila per drink (if you want an alcoholic beverage). Garnish with lime wedges and cherries, enjoy!

 

Step-by-Step Photos

005

Here are our cast of characters for this delectable drink…. mmmmmmm!

014

Toss the sugar and fresh lime juice into the blender along with the watermelon. Next time I will be more careful to remove all of the seeds. Those little guys were a strange little surprise in my drink.

022

Then one adorable toddler comes peeking into the kitchen to charm his way into getting a taste. Maybe a sip of the non-alcoholic version, buddy. Isn’t he the cutest little guy you ever did see?

040

Once you’re no longer distracted by a cute little kid it’s time to blend it up! The watermelon limeade that is. Will you look at that pretty color?

046

Pour your fresh limeade into a pitcher and chill in the refrigerator until you are ready to enjoy it. I only own one pitcher, and I realized I could probably have fit two batches in this pitcher but alas, I didn’t have any more watermelon.

050

When you are ready to enjoy this delicious nectar, measure out 1-2 ounces of tequila per drink.

You can definitely leave out the alcohol if you want a non-alcoholic beverage… But it is much better with it, trust me!

056

Just in case you were wondering, I spiked my drink.

063

Give everything a quick stir and add your garnishes.

090

This lighting made the drinks look a little darker than they actually were, but oh oh oh! This watermelon limeade was so refreshing and delicious! Try it right now, you won’t regret it!

097

Love it! Everything is so fresh, bright, and beautiful. The watermelon doesn’t need a lot of extra sugar so I thought that 2 tablespoons was the perfect amount. The lime and tequila make this drink extra perky. Happy blending!

Leave a Reply

