Pepperoni French Bread Pizzas

I hope everybody had a fantastic 4th of July holiday! While we were hoping to spend the weekend on the lake splashing in the water and cruising on the boat, we were kept indoors by the rain and by a sick toddler. Poor Sam caught a nasty bug last week and he is still recuperating. Thankfully he is on the mend, but my sweet boy was not feeling up to doing much this weekend.

Even though it rained cats and dogs all weekend, we got to spend quality time with our family eating delicious vacation food and playing cards. Not to mention, this happened…

2016-07-03 15.51.54 We played dress up and had a group picture taken at Old Time Photos. Since Sam was sick he was in no mood to play dress up, but we wrangled him into a costume and held him tight. He actually smiled for this photo, but immediately after he started crying and that was the end of that. Despite the stress of trying to keep my sick baby happy I am still in love with this photo and the memories it holds.

Never a dull moment with this clan: playing with cousins, snuggles with Grandpa, and especially snuggles between me and my little man! Don’t forget about the fun themed treats I brought along to share with everybody… Patriotic Hard Candies, red velvet cake balls, and Spiderman cookie pops! I tell you what, those Spiderman cookie pops went over REALLY well with the cousins!

After the busy weekend, and the extra rich vacation food (see above), I needed something simple and quick to throw together that satisfied all of our hungry tummies. Cue the basic pepperoni french bread pizzas!

This is a great meal to toss in the oven when you have a leftover loaf of french bread from the weekend. Personally, I always keep pepperoni in the freezer and I was lucky enough to have a jar of homemade pizza sauce hiding in the freezer as well. My kitchen angel was watching over me today.

Pepperoni French Bread Pizza

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 20 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

025a

Ingredients:

  • 1 loaf french bread pizza, sliced in half lengthwise
  • 1 1/2 cups pizza sauce, to taste
  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • Pepperoni slices

Directions: Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Slice the loaf of french bread in half lengthwise and divide the pizza sauce between the two halves. Spread the sauce out to the edges of the bread. Sprinkle the cheese evenly over the top and add the pepperoni slices. Bake on a parchment paper lined baking sheet for 10-12 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and the whole pizza is completely heated through. Slice, and serve.

Step-by-Step Photos

003

A simple cast of characters for tonight’s main dish. Regular pepperoni for the hubby, and turkey pepperoni for me (not pictured), pizza sauce, cheese, and a big ol’ loaf of french bread. I got fancy and bought the pizza blend of cheese at the store, normally I just grate a block of mozzarella but I felt a little decadent tonight.

005

Spread the pizza sauce evenly over the halves of bread. This is homemade pizza sauce and I am in love with the flavor! Mr. C says it tastes good but he isn’t a fan of the chunks of onion… what? Next time, I will puree the whole batch and no one will ever know.

007

Now, sprinkle on a healthy dose of cheese. I list just 1 cup in the recipe but feel free to add more or less depending on your preferences.

010

Last, but certainly not least, place your pepperoni slices on top of the whole kit and caboodle. On top you have the regular pepperoni for Mr. C and on the bottom we have my far superior turkey pepperoni, I think he would disagree with that last bit.

012

Bake these bad boys until they are nice and hot and crisp and gorgeous.

021

Slice em up and serve em! For normal human beings, one loaf makes 4 big portions… But I usually eat my entire half in one sitting. I have no self control and I should be a little ashamed about that, but I’m too busy enjoying my pizza coma.

025

2 thoughts on “Pepperoni French Bread Pizzas

Leave a Reply

