Grilled Foil-Pack Potatoes

When you’re already firing up the grill for burgers why not make life easier on yourself and make this simple side dish that you can toss on the fire right along side the rest of your meal?

Do yourself a favor and chop some potatoes.

I am big on simple side dishes and this definitely fits the definition. I also love potatoes, potatoes have had my back through thick and thin. They have never lead me astray.

After watching countless Food Network episodes I got the trick of adding a splash of heavy cream to the potato packets from my favorite food network star, Ree Drummond. I have honestly never made anything of hers that I didn’t like. So when I saw her splash heavy cream on her potato packets I went out and bought a carton.

The recipe is pretty basic and very common, but its a good, trusty recipe to have on hand when you need something quick and easy.

 

Grilled Foil-Pack Potatoes

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

127a

Ingredients:

  • 4 russet potatoes, cleaned and diced
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 4 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 stick (8 tablespoons) butter
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoonΒ  minced fresh parsley, optional

Directions: Preheat a grill to medium high heat. Scrub the potatoes clean before dicing them into bite sized pieces. Tear off four large pieces of heavy duty aluminum foil and place 1 diced potato on each sheet of foil. Top each potato with a handful of diced onion, one crushed garlic clove, 2 tablespoons butter, and drizzle with 1 tablespoon of heavy cream. Optionally, mince the garlic instead of crushing it. Generously season each packet with salt and pepper and a small sprinkle of minced parsley, if using. Bring the long edges of the foil pack up to meet and fold over multiple times. Fold up the sides of the packet in a similar way until the packet it completely sealed. Place on a preheated grill and cook for about 30 minutes, flipping halfway through, until the potatoes are very tender. Carefully open the packets and enjoy!

Step-by-Step Photos

035

Here are our cast of characters: potatoes, onion, garlic, butter, heavy cream, salt and pepper and, if I had any available, I would have used fresh parsley. Alas, my green thumb failed me with my first parsley plant of the summer and I am still waiting for the second plant grow enough to take clippings.

Sad sad day in parsley town.

037

Dice the potatoes and onion into similar sized pieces and use the side of a large kitchen knife to crush the garlic. In the foil packet the garlic has a nice long time to roast and share its magical flavors with all of the other goodies. If you aren’t a fan of whole roasted garlic cloves go ahead and mince the garlic so you don’t have any surprises. But I saw no reason to exert anymore effort today.

041

Throw everything onto a large square of aluminum foil and wonder how you never thought to add heavy cream to your potatoes before…

053

Bring the long sides of the foil up to meet and fold down multiple times, kind of like folding down a paper bag.

058

Do the same to the sides of the foil packet. Note: use heavy duty foil, I regret not doing so. Also, use more foil than you think you will need. If your butter makes a break for it you will have a grease fire in your grill and those are no fun.

Not that I have ever stared at my flaming grill and wondered what the heck I was supposed to do…

127

Toss your foil packets on the grill for 30 minutes, flipping them about halfway through the cooking time. No photos of that process because I was running back and forth between the grill and my kitchen and in the chaos I simply forgot.

But once those potatoes were done I had a piping hot, tender, flavorful, delicious, and easy side dish for my bacon barbecue burgers. I couldn’t have been more pleased, mmmm….

143

Would you just look at that? A healthy squeeze of ketchup is all I need to finish this plate. Boom!

Happy humpday!

2 thoughts on “Grilled Foil-Pack Potatoes

Leave a Reply

