Grilled Chicken Sandwich with Tomato and Basil

Grilled chicken sandwiches can be a blank canvas for so many different flavor combinations. Today, since it’s my birthday, and I have to cook anyways I decided to make this ridiculously delicious, and seriously simple grilled chicken sandwich.

Tomatoes and Basil… a match made in heaven. Grilled ciabatta rolls, grilled chicken topped with mozzarella, sliced tomato, and fresh basil from my herb garden. Oh me, oh my, oh lawd give me strength! The hubby is not fond of tomatoes or basil… he just doesn’t know what’s good. He topped his chicken with lettuce, boooooring. Still tasty because the chicken on its own is delicious, but no where near as delicious as my sandwich. Clearly he doesn’t know what he is missing.

It’s my birthday and I’ll eat tomatoes and basil if I want to.

Grilled Chicken Sandwich with Tomato and Basil

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
074a

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 2 large chicken breasts
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise, or more to taste
  • 2 tomatoes, sliced
  • 4 ciabatta rolls, split
  • 4 slices mozzarella
  • 8-12 basil leaves, to taste

Directions: In a large plastic bag add olive oil, juice of the lemon, garlic, salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning. Mix the marinade in the bag and set aside. Slice the chicken breasts along the side, lengthwise to create four equal servings. Add the chicken to the bag and stir it around to coat the chicken completely in the marinade. Allow the chicken to marinate in the refrigerator for 30 minutes, agitating the bag every once in a while to redistribute the marinade.

Meanwhile, prepare the other ingredients: slice the tomatoes and clean the basil leaves, set them aside until you are ready to assemble the sandwiches. Butter both sides of each ciabatta roll and preheat the grill to high heat. Once the grill has preheated add the rolls butter side down and toast for a couple of minutes until golden. Remove the rolls from the grill and set aside on a platter, add the chicken breasts and grill 5-7 minutes on each side or until a thermometer reads 160-165 degrees. Top each chicken breast with cheese, cover and cook another minute or until the cheese is melted. Remove the chicken from grill and get ready to prepare your sandwich.

Build your sandwich by spreading the mayo on both sides of the toasted rolls, add the grilled chicken and top with sliced tomatoes. Season the tomatoes with salt and freshly cracked pepper and finish the whole sandwich off with a few basil leaves. Enjoy!

Step-by-Step Photos

001

Here are our cast of characters. Thank you for ignoring the fact that I completely forgot the tomatoes… and the chicken. No big deal.

I don’t always have my ducks in a row.

008

To make life easier I like to fold the sides of the ziploc bag over and set the whole thing in a bowl. Less likely to make a mess and cause a kitchen melt down on my part.

*Psssst! Don’t mind that it looks like I have three garlic cloves here, I always smash the cloves to remove the outer paper and I hit a little bit too hard this time. Hulk smash!

013

Pour in a couple of table spoons of olive oil…

016

Add in your salt and pepper, go crazy!

019

A teaspoon of Italian seasoning, for good measure…

023

Juice of 1 lemon, a glorious smell!

I had a funny picture showing my hand straining to squeeze the lemon and I was going to comment about my hulk wrists but my vanity stopped that real quick.

036

Another must have ingredient- garlic! I’m pretty sure I can’t cook anything without garlic.

Once you have all the ingredients for your marinade in the bag seal it up and mix it around to distribute all of the flavors. Set the bag aside until you are ready to add the chicken.

038

Time to meet your maker little chicken! Normally, I would butterfly the chicken breasts to make thin chicken breast cutlets but these chicken breasts were already pretty thin so I just trimmed the gross bits and cut them into four portions.

You do what you gotta do.

040

Add the chicken cuts to your marinade and mush it around until everything is evenly coated.

Not the most pleasant sight, is it?

Pop the chicken in the refrigerator to marinate for 30 minutes or so. Tick tock, tick tock.

044

While the chicken is marinating spread the rolls with BUTTAH!

048

Preheat your grill to high heat and once it is nice and hot toss those rolls on there butter side down.

What side does the toast land: Butter side up or butter side down?

I love our little talks.

Once the bread is toasted remove it to a platter and throw your chicken on the grill! Cover it and let it cook for 5-7 minutes, depending on how thick your cuts are.

050

As the chicken cooks go ahead and get excited! Assemble all the components for sandwich making… toasted rolls (check), mayo (check), sliced tomato (check), fresh basil (check), hungry tummy (check)!

057

Flip the chicken and cook another 5-7 minutes until a thermometer reads between 160-165 degrees. As you can see my chicken is a little uneven because I cut it into portions instead of slicing them in half butterfly style.

Moral of the story: Do as I say, not as I do. Make sense?

061

Plop the cheese on top. I folded it in half this time to make it a nice thick layer. Yum!

This would also be amazing with fresh mozzarella but my grocery budget wouldn’t allow it this week.

065

Melty melty! 

068

Time to build these glorious sandwiches! After spreading both sides of your grilled roll with mayo plop a still-sizzling piece of chicken on top… mmmmmm!

070

Sliced tomatoes topped with salt and freshly cracked pepper *hops excitedly*

072

And last, but not least, gorgeous and bright basil leaves! *Applause* I am beside myself with glee!

074

Oh honey, would you just look at that?

081In the spirit of easy cooking I served these sandwiches with a side of sweet red grapes. Perfect!

Overall, this grilled chicken sandwich was a breeze to throw together and having such an easy side dish made it a perfectly simple and delectable birthday dinner.

 

Leave a Reply

