Creamy Beef and Black Bean Enchiladas

After making enchilada sauce the other day I followed it up with these drop dead amazing enchiladas.

Let me say that again… amazing!

When I visit a new Mexican restaurant one of the first things I try on the menu are the enchiladas. If you give me a fantastic plate of enchiladas then you are my new best friend.

Spicy, flavorful, cheesy, and plate lickin’ good!

Creamy Beef and Black Bean Enchiladas

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Difficulty: Intermediate
  • Print
269a

Ingredients:

  • 8 flour tortillas
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 (10 ounce) can Rotel, undrained
  • 2 cups black beans, drained and rinsed (about equivalent to 1 can)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, cut into cubes
  • 1/2 recipe of my homemade enchilada sauce or your favorite can of enchilada sauce
  • 8 ounces monterey jack cheese, shredded
  • Sour cream, sliced green onions, and cilantro for topping

Directions: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a large skillet add a couple tablespoons of oil and warm over medium heat. Once the skillet is hot add the garlic and onion and saute until the onion is almost translucent. Add the ground beef to the skillet and cook until the meat is completely browned, breaking it up as it cooks. Once the beef is completely cooked spoon out any excess grease and add the can of Rotel and the black beans, stir to combine. Add the cubed cream cheese to the skillet and stir until the cheese has melted. Continue cooking until the sauce has thickened, 5-10 minutes.

In a greased 9×13 baking dish pour in enough enchilada sauce to coat the bottom, set the remaining enchilada sauce off to the side. Grab a tortilla and scoop a healthy serving of the meat mixture into the center, top the meat with shredded cheese, roll up the tortilla, and place seam side down into the baking dish. Repeat with the remaining tortillas. Once all of the tortillas are filled pour the remaining enchilada sauce evenly over the top. Sprinkle the last of the cheese over the top to finish it off.

Place the baking dish in your preheated oven for 30 minutes or until everything is heated through and the sauce is bubbling. Serve the enchiladas topped with sour cream, cilantro, and sliced green onions.

Step-by-Step Photos

111

Here are our cast of characters for these pretty thangs!

The poor cheese got lost on the way to the cast photo but don’t worry, he finds his way to us eventually.

115

Drizzle some oil in a skillet and get it nice and hot.

118

Meanwhile, prep the onion and garlic.

I am still working on my knife skills but I am pleased with how far I have come. When I first started cooking I am pretty sure I hacked and sawed more than sliced and diced.

120

Get the onion and garlic into the hot pan and drool!

Don’t forget a generous sprinkle of salt and pepper.

122

Keep stirring and cooking until the onions are almost translucent.

125

Plop the weird looking chunk of ground beef into the skillet.

Okay, I know this beef is perfectly fine but I always think that raw meat looks grody. Ew.

128

Keep cooking and break up the meat as it browns.

129

Well, hi sweetie! So glad you could join us. We can’t forget our cheesy little friend.

136

You can shred the whole block of cheese but this time I decided to cut 8 generous slices of cheese to make sure each enchilada had an equally deliciously gigantic gooey layer of cheese.

The more cheese the better. Let’s say it all together… the more cheese the better. Amen.

145

By now, the meat should be good and done. Dump in a can of rotel.

150

Follow the tomatoes with a dash of cumin and half a block of cream cheese.

I know, I know, I should have cut the cream cheese into cubes. It would have definitely sped up the melting process but I was feeling lazy and couldn’t be bothered to expend the energy.

152

I kinda forgot to add the black beans before this point but usually I have already stirred them in before adding the rotel and cream cheese.

154

Now, if you’re scatterbrained like me, dump in the black beans and stir them in.

160

Cook this whole buncha deliciousness for 10 minutes until the sauce has thickened.

Let me admit, I didn’t cook mine long enough because I was so dang hungry that I rushed this along.

Don’t be like me, have some patience young grasshopper.

164

Time to assemble! Pour in enough enchilada sauce to coat the bottom of a greased 9×13 pan.

167

Grab yourself a tortilla.

Knock it off, Napoleon! Just make yourself a dang quesa-dilluh!

169

Line a healthy helping of meat mixture onto the tortilla. See how it is a little juicy? If I had been a patient lady and cooked the meat mixture longer it wouldn’t have been an issue.

171

Add your cheese…

172175

And roll it up nice and tight.

Did you know it’s a little hard to take a picture of a rolled up enchilada with one hand?

178

Lay the enchiladas seam side down into the casserole dish. Repeat until your dish is overflowing with delicious enchiladas!

184

Cram them in!

189

Now pour the rest of your glorious enchilada sauce over the top.

195

Pour it on nice and thick my friends! Don’t be shy.

199

That’s what I’m talking about.

203

Grab the rest of the shredded cheese and sprinkle it over the top.

207

My life, in this moment, is complete.

214

I sway, I swoon when I see your cheesy goodness.

219

Heaven help me these enchiladas smelled so good! Bake them in a 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes or until they are bubbly and look a little something like this.

Melty, slightly crispy, cheese on top with ridiculously flavorful sauce and a creamy meaty center.

Bliss.

235

A normal person would probably be satisfied eating 1 enchilada per serving but I was ravenous.

I am not shy when it comes to food. I bet you didn’t know that about me.

239

Serve up those enchiladas before I start eating them straight from the baking dish.

242

253

I’m not quite done yet. Can’t have enchiladas without my fixin’s!

Start with a dollop, or two, of sour cream.

256

And finish it all off with some sliced green onions and cilantro.

I am proud to say that both the green onion and the cilantro came from my little container garden out back. It’s definitely a wonderful thing to have fresh herbs available at your fingertips.

266

This is shear perfection. My mouth is watering.

271

A bit of a closeup on the creamy, cheesy filling. Truly delightful.

Make these enchiladas tomorrow, make them again next week, and the next week. Don’t ever stop the enchilada parade!

I don’t even know what that means aside from the fact that these enchiladas, especially with the homemade enchilada sauce, were so freaking fantastic I was sad when they were all gone. Thankfully I have a jar of homemade enchilada sauce waiting for me in the freezer, these bad boys will be on the menu again very soon.

Mmmmmm…..

269

Leave a Reply

