Mama C’s Fiery Party Mix

Ever since I met my husband he has been a Chex Party mix fiend. His snack of choice (at least one of them) is a tasty bag of Chex Mix and it was only recently that I started making my own. I didn’t realize how easy it is to make or how gloriously customizable it is!

Now I make a huge bowl of these tasty crunchies to serve as our snackies for a couple of weeks! If I don’t sit down with the bowl and eat most of it in one sitting.

Just so you know, I tend to use a heck of a lot of hot sauce in this recipe but feel free to use as much or as little as your family can stand. My hot sauce may not be as potent as what you have sitting on your shelf so use my measurement for hot sauce as a guideline.

My kitchen: where recipes are more what you’d call guidelines than actual rules.

Mama C's Fiery Party Mix

  • Servings: 15-20
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
154a

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter
  • 4 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 tablespoons hot sauce (more or less to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon seasoned salt
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 9 cups Chex cereal (corn, rice, or wheat)
  • 3 cups waffle pretzels
  • 1 (6 ounce) bag garlic bagel chips [about 3 cups]
  • 1 (12-14 ounce) box cheddar cheese crackers

Directions: In a 2 cup liquid measuring cup add the butter, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, seasoned salt, paprika, chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, and black pepper. Microwave in 30 second intervals until the butter is completely melted. Stir to combine all of the seasonings.

In a very large bowl stir together the cereal, pretzels, and bagel chips. Leave the cheese crackers out for now. Very slowly drizzle the butter mixture over the cereal mix and stir at the same time. Continue drizzling and stirring until everything is evenly coated. Be sure to stir gently to avoid breaking up the cereal.

Spread the cereal mixture over two separate baking sheets and bake for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes to redistribute the cereal mixture and seasoning. After an hour allow the cereal mixture to cool until you can touch it and return it to the large bowl. Stir in the cheddar cheese crackers and enjoy!

Step-by-Step Photos

002

The cast of characters for this spicy deliciousness. Every time I make this I feel like I am pulling out half of my spice cabinet.

But it’s all totally worth it.

005

Let’s get started by putting a stick and a half of butter into a liquid measuring cup. That is a lovely sight.

010

Pour in some Worcestershire sauce…

018

A very healthy helping of hot sauce!

I use three tablespoons but you should definitely tone it down if your hot sauce is particularly potent.

Or, feel free to use even more hot sauce if your poor tongues can stand it!

026

Season salt…

031

Paprika…

A tangent down memory lane: when I was younger my mother only used paprika to top deviled eggs. I basically thought that paprika had no flavor and its only purpose was to be pretty. I have learned so much since then!

035

Chili powder…

037

Onion powder…

042

Garlic powder… It just keeps going!

046

Finally, we need some black pepper to top it off.

Microwave this mixture in 30 second intervals until it is completely smooth and well combined.

052

Add the cereal to a very large bowl. Now, most recipes for cereal party mix call for corn, rice, and wheat Chex cereal but I just can’t abide by having three partial boxes of cereal in my cupboards. I don’t have space for that silliness in my itty bitty kitchen.

If you want to use three different cereals then be my guest, I’m not your mother! But if you’re like me just grab one box and you’ll wind up using most of the box to make this recipe and have enough for breakfast the next day.

055

Dramatically pour in the bagel chips, there is no other way to do it.

058

Then show your sensitive side and gently lay the pretzels down with the rest of the party.

059

Now gently mix all of the friends together so they can get to know each other.

062

Look at the cheese crackers, they look a little lonely. Don’t worry, you are not forgotten!

063

We mustn’t forget the incredibly flavorful butter mixture from earlier.

Hello, darling!

086

Lightly drizzle the butter mixture evenly over every last bit of the cereal mixture. Stir gently at the same time to distribute the seasonings.

106

You want to make sure to evenly coat everything as best as you can. You run the risk of certain bits getting soggy if you don’t pour with a gentle hand.

116

Spread out the cereal mixture evenly onto two baking sheets.

I usually line mine with foil because I’m lazing and I hate doing a lot of clean up. Lazy Jessica is lazy.

131

Bake the cereal mixture for a total of 1 hour stirring every 15 minutes. I usually pop this in the oven right before I start dinner since I will be in the kitchen anyways.

142

After baking and cooling pour the whole lot back into that great big bowl of yours and finally, finally my dear, pour in the cheese crackers.

I have tried this before by including the cheese crackers with the cereal mix and baking it all together but we found that we preferred the contrast of spicy vs cheesy.

148

This stuff, my friends, is so gosh darn tasty!

Try not to eat it all in one sitting. I have faith in you.

162

Instead of wasting money on bags of chips to send with the hubby for his lunch I love making this party mix. It is easily customizable to fit whatever we’re fancying that particular day.

This mix has a great kick to it from the hot sauce but not too much. I like a little spice in my life but if I’m being honest I’m kind of a wimp. If you really want someone to break a sweat go ahead and go wild with the hot sauce.

2 thoughts on “Mama C’s Fiery Party Mix

Leave a Reply

