Slow-Cooker Zesty Italian Beef: Part One

The days are cooling down and I am practically beside myself with glee.

Fall is the BEST time of the year. Don’t try to tell me otherwise, I’ll fight you!

Cooler weather means I can wear comfy sweaters, eat warm comforting soup, and enjoy the beautiful change happening to the leaves outside.

Warm comfy clothes makes me happy.

Comfort food makes me happy.

Food makes me happy.

I’m glad we cleared that up.

On the topic of food, this Zesty Italian beef makes me VERY happy! When I first tried it I was worried that I had made a terrible mistake and ruined an entire roast, but thank goodness I was not disappointed!

Sure, it sounds a bit strange to cook a roast with a whole jar of pickled peppers but for goodness sake if it didn’t result in the most tender and seriously flavorful meat you ever did taste!

Slow-Cooker Zesty Italian Beef

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
050a

Ingredients:

  • 1 (2 1/2-3 1/2 pound) beef roast
  • 1 packet Zesty Italian Dressing mix
  • 1 tablespoon beef broth base
  • 1 jar sliced banana peppers or pepperoncini

Directions: Slice off most of the fat from the beef and place it in your slow cooker. Sprinkle the roast with the beef base and the packet of Zesty Italian Dressing mix. Pour the entire jar of sliced peppers over the top, juice and all. Cover and cook on low heat from 8-10 hours, or until the roast is completely tender and pulls apart easily with a fork. Serve the meat with a spoonful of the flavorful broth and enjoy!

Step-by-Step Photos

004

I am a big fan of recipes that use very few ingredients. Beef base, Zesty Italian Dressing mix, sliced peppers, and a the prettiest little roast you can find on sale.

Now, I know that similar recipes call for pepperoncini peppers but I have found that banana peppers are a nice alternative. I usually just grab the cheaper of the two.

What I’m saying is, follow your heart. Pick your favorite. Own it!

006

I prefer to cut off most of the fat cap off of the meat, especially in the slow cooker since the meat will be fall apart tender.

Logic.

007

Most of the time I mix up my own broth so I don’t have to worry about stocking up my cabinets with boxes of broth. The powder saves quite a bit of room and is a nice thing to have on hand to add a punch of flavor. I have seen other people use a packet of Au Jus mix, but since I always have this on hand I toss it on in.

A rounded tablespoon does a nice job here.

018

Happily sprinkle the dressing mix over the top.

Mmmm, so many delightful flavors in such a small little thing.

027

Last, but certainly not least, pour the whole gosh darn jar of sliced peppers on top.

029

Give yourself a pat on the back and tell yourself everything will be okay as you place the cover on top and let is spend some time alone on low for 8 to 10 hours. In my opinion, the longer the better.

033

The meat is ready to go when it is easily pulled apart. Go ahead and give it a taste,  go ahead!

035

Shred it up, and allow the meat to soak up all of those flavorful juices.

037

Grab yourself a pretty plate. Hello Currier and Ives!

038

Tonight, I needed a big pile of creamy mashed potatoes. I definitely had seconds.

041

Plop some beef next to, or on top of, those beautiful white fluffy clouds of potatoes.

043

Don’t forget to spoon some broth over the meat and potatoes.

Oodalalee!

Thanks to my hubby for holding the plate. Ah, the challenges of food blogging!

In case you hadn’t noticed, The Doctor decided to come to dinner. I giggled when I noticed my TARDIS cookie jar in the background. Even the Doctor knows when something good is on the menu.

Though, I doubt you’ll ever find me cooking up a feast of fish fingers and custard.

047

That’s what I’m talking about!

050

To finish it off I decided I needed some creamed peas. The end.

Seriously, go make this roast. Please?

Enjoy!

059

3 thoughts on “Slow-Cooker Zesty Italian Beef: Part One

Leave a Reply

