You put a spell on me

Oh guys, I have missed you! It’s been a little crazy round here and I have missed talking with ya. I started working part time at the grocery store as an overnight stocker and it has drained me. I’m still spending my days running after my toddler, add two nights where I don’t get any sleep and it leaves this mama hurtin’ for a nap. It seems to take me a while to catch up and feel energetic and then I have to do it all again. Phew, it’s not the most ideal situation but I’m keeping my eyes open for other opportunities. Maybe a bakery, or catering job is in my future so I am keeping my eyes forward.

And now I’m here. It’s been a few weeks since I’ve touched base with you and I promise to try to be better about this whole bloggy-blog!

I know I’m a little late to the game but let me show you how much fun we had this halloween. My mother-in-law and I had a ton of fun planning an adult halloween party and it was a much needed distraction!

Bats! This was a such a simple DIY halloween decoration, love it! My hubby helped by drawing the original bat outline and then I grabbed some black cardstock and some pretty sparkly scrap book paper, then traced- cut- repeat. Fold the wings up a bit to add a 3D effect and haphazardly tape them to the wall in a somewhat sweepy bat formation. Sweepy? Forgive me, I am running on a 2 hour nap since yesterday morning.

Next, I have to show off these crazy cool cupcakes I made for the party. Not to toot my own horn but- toot toot! I made a batch of regular ol’ vanilla cupcakes and a batch of red velvet cupcakes, dramatic and delicious! I found those spiderweb cupcake wrappers on amazon. We also found the spider mold on amazon, gotta love the place!

Just so you know, if you choose to work with cotton candy to make a cool “web” decoration wait until the VERY last second to add the cotton candy. Cotton candy is so persnickety and will begin melting from any heat or moisture from the frosting. The cotton candy did make a neat web effect, but within a couple of hours it had completely melted with made this lady frown.

We can’t forget about the rest of the food… A murderously delicious cheesecake. I forgot to include a photo of the crazy good zesty strawberry puree we poured on top. Bloody delightful! Don’t forget the eyeball deviled eggs. We flavored these bad boys with horseradish and lightly tinted them green, added a slice of pimiento stuffed green olive and smiled at how clever we were.

It wasn’t all sweets and eyeballs at this halloween party, we also made zesty Italian beef and enjoyed it on hawaiian rolls. Last, but certainly not least, I made a batch of jalapeno popper crescent rolls that disappeared very quickly. Don’t worry, I’ll share those bad boys with you soon enough.

Decorations! There are so many crazy cool halloween decoration available and it was fun setting it all up. A haunted typewriter, homemade spell ingredients and potions, a mythical wreath, and more. What fun!

Mr. Sam got to stay up long enough to say hello and roar around in his dragon costume and then it was bedtime for that little boy!

I mean dragon.

It was a very accurate costume.

I was the renaissance maiden to his dragon and hubby decided to be Kavinsky. If you’re not aware of what/who that is a google and youtube search will show you the strange 80’s techno music that Kavinsky is linked to. It’s all a little bit over my head to say that least. No, my husband was not my knight in shining armor to save me from the dragon, but at least he decided on something that he actually liked, even if it makes me roll my eyes.

Sam had a good time going to different events and showing off his costume, everyone thought he was the cutest little dragon and I agreed!

Stay tuned for a couple of recipe posts coming your way very soon, you deserve it after waiting this long.

Ta ta for now!

Leave a Reply

