Classic Potato Soup

It’s December! When did that happen?

So basically, it’s Christmas and more importantly… it’s soup season! Alright, maybe my priorities are a little mixed up.

But sometimes after a hectic day when you want to just cuddle under a blanket and watch your favorite zombie show (any Walking Dead fans in the audience?) it’s therapeutic to sip on a steaming bowl of comforting classic potato soup with your favorite toppings.

Even if you’re not watching a gory zombie show this comfort food is definitely welcome in our house during these cold months.

Living in the Midwest is definitely an adventure when it comes to weather. Just a month ago it was still warm and lovely outside and now, as if Mother Nature has it out for us, the frigid wind is cutting straight through our layers of sweat pants, sweat shirts and thick coats. Sometimes I feel like that meme that goes around every winter- Why do I live in a place where the wind hurts my face?

Classic Potato Soup

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
075a

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup salted butter
  • 6 large russet potatoes, peeled and chopped into large chunks
  • 3 carrots, cleaned and diced
  • 3 celery stalks, washed and diced
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 1 tablespoon chicken broth base
  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Toppings: shredded cheese, sour cream, sliced green onions, bacon bits, etc.

Directions: Clean the carrots and celery and dice evenly, set aside. Dice the onion while the butter is melting in a large pot over medium heat. Once the carrots, celery, and onions are diced add them to the butter and sauté them until they begin to soften, 5-10 minutes. Meanwhile, peel and chop the potatoes. Once the potatoes are ready and the vegetables on the stove are softened add the potatoes to the pot and add enough water to cover the potatoes. Increase the heat to high and bring to a boil. Allow everything to boil until the potatoes are tender, 15 minutes. Reduce the heat if the pot tries to boil over. Once the potatoes are tender, optionally remove some of the water cooking liquid if you want a thicker soup. Add the evaporated milk, chicken broth base, and salt and pepper to taste. Lastly, take a potato masher and mash the potatoes and veggies into the soup until you have reached the desired consistency. Taste and adjust seasonings. Serve the soup hot with all of your favorite toppings.

Step-by-Step Photos

002

Here are our cast of characters for this classic household staple. What’s wonderful about potato soup is how easy it is to customize to suit your tastes.

Wanna know something else that is pretty great about this soup? You probably have all of the ingredients handy right now.

Dontcha? Quick, go check!

004

First things first, clean your carrots and celery and give all of the vegetables a good chop. Try to keep them all roughly the same size to make sure they cook evenly.

008

Pause for a moment. Isn’t this the most beautiful pot you ever did see?

I swoon a little every time I see it.

009

Melt the butter in your beautiful pot over medium heat.

012

Add the veggies and saute them over medium heat until they are softened. If you want to be fancy you should call this a mirepoix.

I learned that word for the first time when the hubster and I were still engaged. His mother and I were still getting to know each other, which was easy because she and I both have a fantastic love for food, and she used that word while flipping through magazines. Needless to say I gave her a look that told her just how ignorant I was and she graciously, without laughing at my expression, dumbed it down for me.

Let’s just say I still have a lot to learn.

013

While your mierpoix is sauteing, prep the potatoes.

015

Chop them up into equal size pieces.

016

By now these veggies should be well on their way to potato soup kingdom.

019

Add your potatoes and season generously with salt and pepper. These potatoes need a generous amount of seasoning.

021

Add enough water to cover everything and bring the mixture to a boil. Let it all cook happily for about 15 minutes.

027

When all of the vegetables are nice and tender it’s time to make it interesting.

028

I prefer my potato soup to be a bit thicker so I scoop out cooking liquid until I’m satisfied with the liquid content.

This step is completely optional, if you don’t mind a thinner soup then skip this step all together.

032

Add a tablespoon of chicken base to another layer of flavor. This is also optional, I just can’t leave well enough alone sometimes.

034

I also prefer a smoother potato soup versus super chunky. So I take my handy dandy potato masher and go to town until I’m happy with the consistency.

038

You don’t have to do this, I’m just weird sometimes.

I’ve accepted my weirdness.

047

This is where I stopped, the mashed potatoes help thicken the soup but there is still plenty of body and texture.

Glorious!

055

Now, go ahead and dump in the can of evaporated milk. You could also use half and half instead, or even heavy cream. Scandalous. I usually use evaporated milk because more often than not there is a can of it hiding in my cabinets.

064

Taste the soup and season it as you see fit. I decided it needed a heck of a lot more pepper.

075

Serve it nice and hot with your favorite toppings. Today, I had chopped bacon and shredded cheese but the sky is the limit.

083

Yes, please and thank you!

Enjoy this delicious potato soup any day of the week. It’s easy and it warms your soul!

2 thoughts on “Classic Potato Soup

  1. I just finished making this for our Christmas dinner. I purchased some bread bowls to put them in from Hyvee. I ended up making it very thin and more mashed potatoes in another bowl and adding them to the finished product. I used small white potatoes we had laying around and ended up using all of them but three. I am excited to have our Christmas meal tonight.

    Suggestions to do while you wait 15 minutes for potatoes to soften:
    Make Coffee –> drink coffee
    Do all the dishes
    unload the dishwasher
    Snack on things in your cupboard
    Call your mom
    Pump milk for the baby
    Sweep potato peels off the floor
    Go see if the mailman came
    rearrange bulbs on the Christmas tree
    Sit down and hope you get back up
    Find your chapstick
    Refill the humidifier
    Look at cute animals in local shelters.

    Like

    1. Those are very productive things to do while you wait. I’m normally just staring at the pot wishing them to cook faster, kudos to you!
      A bread bowl sounds delicious! I hope you enjoyed your soup!

      Like

Leave a Reply

