Slow Cooker Cajun Pot Roast

This roast was hollerin’ at me from the freezer.

You know how it is. You stock up the freezer when meat is on sale and you have to get creative when you’re trying to use it up. I have recently made my favorite Classic Pot Roast so I needed something a little different to spice things up.

Ha! I sure did that! I took my classic pot roast for a fun and delicious Cajun spin.

This slow cooker Cajun pot roast was so easy but packed a serious flavor punch. I love making a big roast and re-purposing the meat for different meals throughout that week, that’s called thrifty kitchen sense. I just made that up. But it’s a good idea.

Slow Cooker Cajun Pot Roast

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
035a

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 pound beef roast
  • 2-3 tablespoons Cajun seasoning
  • 3 large carrots (or 6 small carrots), chopped into large chunks
  • 3 celery stalks, chopped into large chunks
  • 1 large onion, quartered
  • 5 cloves garlic, smashed
  • Black pepper, to taste
  • 1 (10 ounce) can diced tomatoes with green chilies
  • 1/4 cup dry wine, optional

Directions: Trim the excess fat from the roast and coat both sides with Cajun seasoning, reserving about 1/2 teaspoon for later. Place the seasoned roast into the bottom of your slow cooker. Top the meat with the prepared carrots, celery, onion, and garlic. Season the vegetables with the remaining Cajun seasoning and black pepper, if you would like. Be careful not to add too much salt as the Cajun seasoning may already contain quite a bit of salt.Β  Pour the entire can of diced tomatoes with green chilies over the top and lastly the wine if you’re using it. Cover and cook on low 8-10 hours or until the roast is cooked through and tender.

Step-by-Step Photos

003

This recipe is just a spin on your good ol’ classic pot roast. I used a pre-made Cajun seasoning but feel free to mix up your own if you’re feeling ambitious.

Which I was not.

009

Trim the excess fat off the roast and season both sides with all but 1/2 teaspoon of the Cajun seasoning. Squeeze the meat into your slow cooker.

011

Prep the veggies- carrots, celery, garlic, an onion. Easy peasy!

013

Toss all of the vegetables on top of the meat.

Thank goodness it all fit!

014

Add the remaining Cajun seasoningΒ  along with some black pepper.

I would hold off on adding any more salt if I were you. The Cajun seasoning I used had plenty of salt so I didn’t need to add any extra.

017

Pour the can of diced tomatoes with green chilies over everything. Loving all of the colors!

031

Last, but not least, if you’re adding wine go ahead and add it now. This just adds a little something something, but isn’t completely necessary.

035

Ta-da! Here it is after 7 hours on low and 1 hour on high. I got hungry and wanted it done right now! The seasoning really magnified this roast to a whole new level.

I love the nice bit of spice the seasoning and green chilies gave this dish. So good!

060

Today, I served the roast over a cloud of glorious cheesy mashed potatoes. But it would also be amazing over rice, with corn bread, cheesy grits, or in the summer I may pair this with some grilled foil pack potatoes.

Mega yum!

062

This meat was also unbelievably scrumptious on its own but it was also delightful in a Cajun Alfredo I made to use the last of the roast. I can’t wait to try many other delicious combinations.

Enjoy my friends!

Leave a Reply

